Damien Phillip

• Fusilier
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Getting serious about GT popping
February 07, 2009, 02:53:20 AM
Ok guys I really want to start getting into the GT popping scene and would really appreciate some info. Apart from tackle, info relating to tides, times of day, what areas are likely to hold fish, when should you give up trying a particular spot, water depth, weather conditions and I've even heard about moon phases? Does it all depend on the area?

If anyone is willing to shed some light on any of these, please do. Any and all information will be extremely helpful to me, as I'm a newbie to the sport and still learning, I've picked up a lot of things from numerous topics and posts by you guys but just really want to understand the basics.

I know it would be better learning these things first hand but under the circumstances that not many(if none at all?) people around town take GT popping seriously and wouldn't do it on a regular basis(I'm guessing) so am coming to you guys for help :)

I've included a pic of the area I am going to try and explore when I get the chance, Bernier and Dorre Islands off the coast of Carnarvon WA. I'm pretty sure it holds some good fish, big GTs and a variety of other species willing to engulf a popper or stickbait as I've seen them caught using different methods.

This is looking at Dorre Island from the south and that's Bernier Island right up in the top right hand corner of the pic. Don't think this area has been fished seriously with this method before.This is the only place really that may give me a chance at one of those awesome fish around my home town.

Looking forward to hearing some replies. Any tips and opinions will be great.

Cheers
Damo

:) :) :)
Last Edit: February 07, 2009, 11:13:11 AM by Damien Phillip

Kasey Leong

• Bluefin Tuna
  • Liked:
Re: Getting serious about GT popping
February 07, 2009, 07:46:39 AM
Damo,