Adrian Wong

How you fight GT in the shallow.
January 10, 2009, 12:37:23 AM
Hi guys! I'm new here from Singapore.

Went Lombok(Indonesia) few weeks back to target GTs, but luck not on our side for first 2 days. It's only the third day that the fishes bites  >:(. As that was my first GT trip, there were plenty of snapped lines due to wind knots and also lost fight to 'them'. By going through many threads, now I know how could avoid those annoying wind knots!  :o

But, how you guys 'manage' to stop these GTs in the shallow and rocky area? I think I lost about 10 of them due to cut offs, whether at main or leader line. Drag were set at about 12kg (Stella 10k) as I'm a beginner, I lost the first GT. Second strike I tried to apply 'palming' and that GT just keep spooling me till the leader was cut by rocks again... >:(. So, are there any other way you guys fight GT in these scenario?

Really appreciate gurus here to give me some advise...Hope I have another chance to go at them again soon!

Tight lines!

Jon Li

• Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: How you fight GT in the shallow.
January 10, 2009, 02:07:20 AM
Hi Adrian ,

Sound you just had a " GT baptism of fire " , in such situation we just have no other way but use the " no line out " technique , initial drag set starting at 15 kg and just hold the rod high n hope it will stop the big GT on it's track .

Langwan , a member of this forum , works in Lombok n if you drop him a pm , I am sure he can help you as he is an accomplished GT fisherman . Nothing better than going fishing with an experienced angler then just reading about how n what to do , in GT fishing .

I guess what you experienced is what makes GT fishing such an exciting way to fight a fish , the outriggers on my boat have been dismantled and my trolling outfits are gathering dust , since 2001 .

Jon .   
Last Edit: January 10, 2009, 02:22:20 PM by Jon Li