Andrew Colefax

• Fusilier
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
all round PE8 popping rod for Cairns?
January 23, 2009, 09:33:29 PM
Hi All, finally gonna pry myself away from those big fat barra up at tinaroo and ease myself into popping, if thats possible! i've kickstarted it by somehow picking up a brand new Dogfight for $650 from Anaconda last week after they had some crazy stupid sale...I am a custom rod builder and will be building a rod to suit on a Seed blank from japan. I'm after advice on what would be the best all round blank to use from the following models..i'll be fishing from trailerboats and figure i'll be using entry level stuff to start with like haymakers and rovers, progressing to better stuff as i get more addicted

GT-76HP 7'6" fast action PE8-10 13kg max drag 150 gram lure weight

GT-710HP as above but 7'10"

GT-710-XH mod-fast action PE8-12 15kg max drag 200gram lure weight

appreciate any input thanks!

Andrew Poulos

• Dogtooth Tuna
  • Liked:
Re: all round PE8 popping rod for Cairns?
January 23, 2009, 09:50:29 PM
Thats an awesome price for the DF....was it marked wrong. I might have to drop in to mine and see what else is on sale....

The only seed I know is the GTP83H that pulls about 12kg drag at 90', but thats longer than the ones you listed.

Brandon Khoo

• Foundation Moderator
  • Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
January 23, 2009, 09:54:42 PM
incidentally, I as having a bit of a play with the two PE8 blanks just a few days ago. The blanks are a fast action and seem very suitabe for PE8. In terms of the length, I think it comes down primarily to how good a caster you are. If you are a very good caster, I'd suggest the 7'6" blank and if you want better distance, I'd suggest you look at the 7'10" blank. Obviously, the shorter blank would be better to fight a fish with.

They seem a lot stronger than the previous generation of SEED blanks
If it swims; I want to catch it!

Simon Thomas

• Fusilier
  • Liked:
January 23, 2009, 10:10:05 PM
Andrew,