Bernie Keys

• Fusilier
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Leader double?
March 31, 2010, 12:15:53 PM
Pardon if the answer seems obvious. It isn't to me.  :(
Quite often the experts forget that the new guys may lack the very basic information

I am new to this and although I have used braid before, I never bothered too much with doubles etc.

When Game fishing generally (I use the IGFA "recognized" line classes) I use wind on leaders which starts with a double.

When spinning from the rocks I always used a double to a swivel then a short wire leader (if needed) to the lure
I have been reading this and any other forum I can wade through looking for what the consensus is for terminal tackle.

I read and I think I understood the various excellent sticky threads on techniques on this forum  :)

So...I have a few questions

The "twisted" leader is used as a shock leader, is this correct?
When using one would you use another leader (is this  what bite leader is?) near the popper/lure for a bit of protection from the fish teeth.

Can a "double" be tied in braid using a plat? I have seen people use a "cats paw"  :o to tie doubles in mono but they are far inferior to a Bimini or a plat.
If so can the double loop then be used to attach to a "wind on" leader?
I would think  the resulting join would be as good if not better than the friction knots. (probably need binding etc)

Is it normal to use a shortish single wire leader in front of a popper?

And yes I know I should go on a charter and watch the experts but in the mean time I really am a trial & error man and will do some playing.  :-[
Fishing is not life & death...its much more important than that!

Peter Morris

• Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
Re: Leader double?
March 31, 2010, 02:54:18 PM
Bernie,

Do a bit of a search on twisted leaders & doubles and you will find masses of info.

In short.....A bimini is best in braid.
Its far easier to tie and I have never had one let me down.