Rohit Saqa Lal

• Fusilier
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: carmate rod tube
January 28, 2010, 05:23:03 AM
Rohit - have you actually seen a Nature Boys Case?
I have to say, I'm not a big fan

I have never seen one in the flesh but Kil posted lots of pics and a review of both brands and the NB case looks the goods. especially concerning the ability of either one resisting collapse if extended

I have been handling PE cases meant for secure storage for the past 10 years and going by the just the pics the hinges on the NB case are a 1 piece molding while the carmate uses attached hinges. I have seen a number of transport cases with attached hinges not being attached anymore. Such is the nature of PE. On the clip side the clips on the NB case does appear to be something that wont maintain integrity over long term while on the carmate the clip is complimented with a some sort of screw nut mechanism, however head holding the screw or bolt heat captive is plastic over metal and that wont be durable in the long run. Looking closely at the pic of the NB case, there are holes proved for a similar purpose. Next to the holes there are oval slots. A pair of small padlocks on each will keep the body of the padlocks from protruding away from the case if kept inside the ovals. It shouldn't be too difficult to find some that fit nice and snug. One slightly larger padlock on the center strut will maintain the integrity of the case over the entire length in conjunction with the two smaller ones. Off course, since I haven't actually seen one in the flesh I could be totally wrong

The best thing that I like about the NB case though is that it will accommodate 1pc 6' jigging rods or tip sections without extending

Brandon Khoo

• Foundation Moderator
  • Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
January 28, 2010, 02:03:46 PM
Rohit

I was simply trying to be helpful being very familiar with both cases but entirely up to you what you want to buy!
If it swims; I want to catch it!

Rohit Saqa Lal