Chris Tan

• Red Bass
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Using Stella 20000 spool for popping
August 09, 2007, 02:26:39 PM
Hi guys,

My wife and I are heading to New Caledonia soon for some popping. I've been advised by the charter to use 130lb braid with 400lb bite leader :o

As I've never used such heavy tackle before, I was contemplating putting in 130lb braid on my 20000PG spool and using it with my Stella 10000. I'm not exactly sure how much line I can fit in but I'm guessing it will be around 250m. As for the 16000 spool, I'm guessing I'll be able to fit in less than 200m of line.

My question to those in the know:

1) Will I encounter any problems in terms of casting with a 20000 spool? I've been told that with the deep spool, I might encounter some problems but not sure what problems I'll face

2) Would I be better off just using the 16000 spool with less line? I assume the boat will be assisting us in getting close to the fish - so I might not need more than 200m of line.

Any adivse or suggestions would greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Chris

Brandon Khoo

• Foundation Moderator
  • Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
Re: Using Stella 20000 spool for popping
August 09, 2007, 03:33:42 PM
Chris

I used to worry about that too but these days, I'm quite happy to load up the 16000 and even the Yumeya 10000D spool with 130lb braid.

The reality is that you use such heavy braid to try to ensure the fish does not run much at all so realistically, you don't need the extra line you pack onto a 20000 spool. That just becomes a waste of line in my view. if the fish gets 10m of line off you, you will almost inevitably lose the fish. In some places I have fished, a couple of metres is enough to lose the fish.

if you do prefer a 20000 spool, you will have no real trouble casting with it. The only time you will start to encounter some issues will be if you lose 50M+ of line as it starts to get below the spool.