Paul Lee

• Phytoplankton
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Advise on hooks and swivel for Orion BigFoot 140
November 16, 2010, 10:55:31 AM
Hi all.  I am a newbie in sport of GT popping.  I have recently purchased some BigFoot from Eric, and in his website, he recommends to use the 4/0 treble on the 140gms.  After reading all the very informative posts and advise on terminal equipment (eg: Luke's and Brandon's),  I notice that 5/0 are highly recommended for general to big GT type of fishing.  Will the 5/0 treble hooks be a good match for the lure size and will the hooks be sufficiently secure with 200lb test swivel or the 300 lbs?
Last Edit: November 16, 2010, 11:02:14 AM by Paul Lee

Mark Harris

• Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
If only hook sizes were standardised then that question would be very easy to answer.

That being said, an Orion Bigfoot 140 screams out for a 5/0 of any brand I think.  4/0 seems like under-hooking to me.  Others might feel differently. 

Sam Conacher

• Red Bass
  • Liked:
Hi Paul.

with-out being rude at all or anything,

not that i know myself as there is and are plenty of other members hear who know much, much more then i do and that their knowledge and experience is far, far, far greater and superior then mine will ever be.

with and in regards to your question being - will the hooks be sufficiently secure with 200lb test swivel or the 300lbs?

again there's many other's (2 of which you already mentioned) who know heaps, heaps more then i do and maybe able to give and or provide a better answer or be of more help and or of better assistance if that is what you are seeking,  i myself do not see (why not) that hooks would not be sufficiently secure with 200lb test swivel/swivels,          if that makes sense?

if you are in doubt about the 200lb, go up to the 300lb, though i believe either way you can and or could go with either one -- 200lb/300lb. :)
Last Edit: November 16, 2010, 11:43:07 AM by Sam Conacher

Nathan Cefai

• Giant Trevally