tim watson

Hamilton Island in the whitsunday's advice
March 25, 2011, 07:03:14 AM
Hi Guys

I'm having a holiday on this amazing place in late September this year and was trying to work out how to approach the fishing here.
Has anyone any experience on this island - I plan to do lures and livebaiting from the harbour/jetty/shore and was wondering if anyone had any experience or tips for me.

I'm new to GT fishing but consider myself a reasonable angler with the right gear for the job or at least I think I do for average GT's....snowbee 60 -165gramm deep blue popping rod with penn 8500 ss reel loaded with 60lb braid for popping and a shimano 30-50lb (travel) boat rod with a shimano TLD 20 loaded with 60lb braid for live baiting???? Please tell me if you think I'm out gunned or wrong.

Really appreciate any advice and tips on the island.

Cheers

Peter Morris

• Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
I havent fished Hamilton but I have fished other islands (landbased) in the whitsundays and caught a large variety of fish on poppers and plastics.

Find yourself a headland with some current wrapping around it and you can be sure there will be queenies,mackeral and GT's around.

When we stayed overnight at Hamilton (on our way to Elusive with Nomad) there was a very nice looking headland just out from the Whitsunday apartments.It certainly looked like it would produce fish when the tide had some movement.

Pete

Angus Hulme

• Bluefin Tuna
  • Liked:
Hi Tim,