Mark Harris

• Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Weight formula for GT's...
February 03, 2011, 02:41:25 AM
Is the afore-mentioned "Nomad formula" different to this one?

Thanks for the reply Mark...

I think so....Nomads one is different.

Pete

Does anyone know the Nomad formula? Given the membership base of this forum, it should not be too hard to find!

Bertrand Picarda

• Phytoplankton
  • Liked:
February 03, 2011, 09:28:22 PM

Hi to all,

A good 100KG weighing scale with weighing sling bag as used by european carp and catfish anglers can fit the largest of the GTs and cost less than $100. This is the best way to weigh the fish with no damage and get an accurate weight. We spend hundreds on lures so we can afford a scale...Last trip we put a nice GT in the boat that everybody considered a 45+...it went 38 on the scale. I have no experience of true large fish but would not claim any weight unless it goes on scale.

Cheers to all and respect to all the guys for the big fish that are shown here irrespective of the true weight, these are awsome lifetime catches.

B

Brandon Khoo

• Foundation Moderator
  • Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
February 04, 2011, 02:38:10 PM
On average, we find fish in NC to have a much bigger girth than at Bugatti/Elusive. I'm not sure why that is the case but that is an observation made over many trips to both locations. The thickest and heaviest fish I have seen have all come from NC.

To be honest, I have little interest in going to the extent of weighing a fish these days. Unless everything is already set-up, that additional time is just placing the fish at risk. We stuffed around with one fish years ago in Vanuatu and when we put it back in, we couldn't revive it. I learnt a lesson that day. Also the weaker and more disoriented a fish is, the more likely it will be sharked.

Fish weights are just an estimate. If you choose not to believe them, that's fine. I don't think it takes away from the capture of a very nice fish.