Chris Moisson

Re: Wilson Venom rods.
April 18, 2011, 12:20:10 PM
I'm also a beginner and I'm interested in the Wilson Venom Popper PE10 rod to match to a Saragosa 18000 and 80lb braid, rod felt real nice and I like the curve through out the whole rod. Has anyone used this rod yet? my other option is a t-curve GT special, but at first glance I think I prefer the venom. any thoughts?

roderick walmsley

April 18, 2011, 05:46:38 PM
Chris

Mate the Venom rods have performed quite well to date. We have the jig rods and the popping rods on our Charter boat RU4REEL that operates out of the Tweed and as I said previously the best fish on them to date is 46kg. They are probably a bit more forgiving on the angler than the TCurve but the T curve may have a bit more stopping power. We havnt managed to break one yet even though we have giving it a good go. The best advice I could give you is to source one of each and have a few casts even if its in the local creek or river, this will help you to make up your mind as everyone's taste in rods is often different and what is often good for the goose is not always good for the gander.

Cheers

Rod

Chris Moisson

April 18, 2011, 07:01:30 PM
Chris

Mate the Venom rods have performed quite well to date. We have the jig rods and the popping rods on our Charter boat RU4REEL that operates out of the Tweed and as I said previously the best fish on them to date is 46kg. They are probably a bit more forgiving on the angler than the TCurve but the T curve may have a bit more stopping power. We havnt managed to break one yet even though we have giving it a good go. The best advice I could give you is to source one of each and have a few casts even if its in the local creek or river, this will help you to make up your mind as everyone's taste in rods is often different and what is often good for the goose is not always good for the gander.

Cheers

Rod