Rhet Tainton

• Fusilier
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Saragosa mate
February 07, 2011, 09:09:08 PM
Hi All

A brand new fan of the site, a complete novice at targeting GT's, and eyes as big as dinner plates reading and learning from here.

So my first of many questions no doubt.

Heading to Princess Charlotte Bay and hopefully make it to the outer reef.........weather pending.

Starting to buy gear, unfortunately at the lower end of the spectrum for a little while yet. I have purchased a Saragosa and spooled it with 80lb, however will more than likely get a spare spool and put 50lb on it as well.

Now the rod, I am wondering what will be the better match for this reel. The Shimano GT Special, Wilson Venom PE 5 or a Diawa Saltiga SG Dorado 80TN?

I have so far bought poppers and stick baits around the 100g by Yo-Zuri and Nomad.

Hopefully as a complete amateur I am on the right track with gear I have already purchased as I didn't discover this site until the current purchases had been made.

Cheers, Rhet

Mark Harris

• Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
Re: Saragosa mate
February 07, 2011, 09:17:42 PM
Welcome Rhet.

Which size Saragosa are we talking about?  I would guess the 18000 as you spooled with 80lb braid?

The Wilson Venom is a jigging rod I think?  Or?

I don't know much about the Shimano GT Special as I think it may have been special for the Aussie market only (anyone?). I suspect it is the most appropriate of the 3 you mention though.

I  have been doing lots of reading up on the Daiwa Saltiga 80TN and this is really a stick bait rod designed for lines a fair bit lighter than your 80lb.

It would be useful I think Rhet if you posted the max you are looking to spend on a rod.

Rhet Tainton

• Fusilier
  • Liked:
February 07, 2011, 09:35:35 PM
Cheers Mark.

It's actually the 14000, 300yd of 80lb fit neatly.

The venom's come in a Popping PE 3, 5, 8, 10 and 12, as well as the jig range.