Chuen Fan

• Bluefin Tuna
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Go to lures
April 07, 2011, 08:11:19 PM
Fullscale Kong, simply my popper of choice as it is deadly effective, doesn't blow out of the water and a big pop with minimal effort! (very tough construction as well!) A very close second would be either a seafrog 140 or craftbait gt2 150.

Bigfoot 140-190 and Crazy dog from Orion, AH Ultimo and 160 gamma for stickbaits. Long goby and fisherman long pens are good too!
AKA: Sunny

Graham Scott

• Bluefin Tuna
  • Liked:
April 08, 2011, 08:36:36 AM
Hi Ian,
Good to see another non-tackle junkie. Nice to get a contrasting view. Fishing in central queensland and pretty much self taught I haven't seen 90% of the lures listed here.  You CAN catch GTs on a budget. ...and then work your way up (sky's the limit apparently).

I am looking forward to visiting fishhead when I get a chance, just a bit worried about the credit card.

Ralph Holland

May 15, 2011, 08:46:30 PM
Maybe Williamson Jetpoppers are working well. They are cheap and available in a broad range of colors. Yo-zuri bulls are feeling not very tough.

Ben Rivers

• Bluefin Tuna
  • Liked:
May 16, 2011, 08:31:43 PM
I'm just starting out, so I use the following:

- River2Sea Dumbell 200
- Halco Haymaker
- Williamson Jet Popper.

I upgrade the hooks and rings on the Haymakers and Jet Poppers, not the River2Sea Dumbell.

Ben Furness

• Bluefin Tuna
  • Liked:
May 17, 2011, 03:58:51 PM
I have only been on 1 GT trip and there were two definate standouts that accounted for all fish on the trip Heru Cubera and Halco Roosta.

We tried at least 30 different poppers and stickbaits ranging from the $20 up to $200 and nothing else got a strike.

Shaun Raymond

• Fusilier
  • Liked:
May 23, 2011, 10:45:58 PM
Hey guys just got from my first gt trip to north new cal towards and around the belep islands.