Rhet Tainton

• Fusilier
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Double Island Point
June 28, 2011, 09:52:38 PM
Hi All

A question for those with some local knowledge of Double Is Point..............I am heading up to Inskip (whats left of it now!!) for a week and would like to do a couple of trips out to Double Is for a sticky beak more than anything. So would it be worthwhile taking some gear to throw around? Bearing in mind I am an extreme novice to GT fishing and have just the one outfit. (Saltist 80TN & Stella 8000).

From the learning I have been doing, areas around a headland are a likely option, but I'm not really sure on the particular areas of a headland, or whether it would be a viable option for that area.

Thanks muchly for any advice.

Cheers, Rhet

Peter Morris

• Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
Re: Double Island Point
June 29, 2011, 10:33:01 AM
When are you heading up..?

Not really the time for Sticky faces but always a small chance of a winter straggler.

GT's are caught up at Double but mostly smaller fish up to say 6-7kg.

Good destination for reef fish,Jew,Longtails,etc at this time of year.

Pete

Rhet Tainton

• Fusilier
  • Liked:
June 29, 2011, 02:50:55 PM
G'day Pete

Heading up for the last week of July. Will have boat with new motor to run in.

Any idea if the recent washout has effected Fishermans Gutter?

Cheers.

Peter Morris

• Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
June 29, 2011, 06:34:36 PM
Gives the poppers a shot up there but take the snapper soft plastic set ups also.

Some very nice snapper being caught at DI at the moment.

Not sure on the effects of the washout.?

Pete

Aaron Concord

June 29, 2011, 08:45:11 PM
Rhet,

DI's most famous bit of Terra firrma, Wolf Rock, had some moose sized GT's living there.
Unfortunately, the "rock" is closed off due to the 'Grey Nurse Shark protection' debacle.