Andrew Cox

Recommended Stickbaits/Poppers For Doggies
July 07, 2011, 09:07:50 PM
Hi Guys

I am very new to the stickbait and popper side of things just wanted some information on what guys use that have targeted mainly doggies,  I have a big trip planed which is just over a year away so just wanted to start collecting a few now so it doesn't hurt the pocket later.
Only really prepared to spend around $50 per lure as more than likely they will hardly see the water again, I am sure there is plenty out there that would do the job for around that price.

Also is there a special hook setup used for doggies ?

If there is already a link in regards to this somewhere please point me in the direction of it I am sure it has come up before.

Cheers Andrew

Scott Maybury

• Bluefin Tuna
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
I've had two doggies follow surface offerings, one was a pink and white Orion Bigfoot stickbait, didn't get a hit....the other was a pumpkin head Full Scale Kong which the fish followed all the way to the boat and sideswiped almost at the side, missing the hooks and nearly head butting the boat

So.....I don't really know the answer to your question at all :D

Allan Chan Hian Lian

• Fusilier
  • Liked:
Doggies stay in the range of 40-60m under water, to use stickbaits or poppers will be a tough job, I jig for them.
Allanchl

Brandon Khoo

• Foundation Moderator
  • Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
Doggie are very much a by-catch. I've never targeted them specifically on the surface and the very small number I have hooked have taken lures meant for GTs.
If it swims; I want to catch it!

Jon Li

• Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
Anyone tried Carpenter Pandora lure yet when targetting deep dwelling fish ?

Jon .
It's not what you don't know that gets you into trouble , it's what you know for sure that ain't so . Mark Twain .

Brandon Khoo

• Foundation Moderator
  • Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
Anyone tried Carpenter Pandora lure yet when targetting deep dwelling fish ?

Jon .