Clem Henry

• Fusilier
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Reel Maintenance
July 22, 2012, 08:46:06 PM
Hey Guys,

I have been servicing a lot of gear here (Dubai) as we are now in the off season.

Whilst I am relatively new to popping I have fished most of my life and serviced reels as a hobby for about 20 years. There have been significant changes and improvements regarding design and manufacture of reels over that time however, saltwater will always be a major problem when it comes to the longevity of our equipment.

There are lots of claims from manufactures regarding their proprietary coatings and materials used in the manufacture of their reels - fully sealed - water poof - anti rust/corrosion - all come to mind. Some of these claims are correct and some are not, I think it is important to understand some of the limitations of these claims.

I have a few photos below of a Stella and a Dogfight to show some of these issues and just what saltwater can do..

The first one below is of the Line roller assembly on the Stella, in this case the reel has been wet on a few occasions and not cleaned - the saltwater has dried and salt crystals have built up. If left long enough it will destroy anything. I was able to remove the lock screw but only 50% of the retainer was left and will need to be replaced.

The next 2 photos are of the the roller (external corrosion). I have seen this on a number of occasions and is generally caused by storing the rod/reel with wet line (on the roller) for an extended period.

Washer

Inside the roller assembly

All of the above is avoidable through regular maintenance you can do yourself. There is a lot of debate regarding how to maintain your reel and everyone has there own way - in short, as long as you do the basics you should be fine.