Peter Loveday

newbie question on braid
March 20, 2012, 07:52:26 PM
I'm just getting into GT popping and about to get a new outfit.
I've noticed that a lot of you guys fish braid test much higher than the reel drag ratings?
80lb on stella 18000 with 55lb drag seems too much to me.

Why is this, especially when a lower test will help you cast further

I'm thinking of putting 65lb tuf-line or power pro or JB on stella 10000  :o
seem right?
cheers

Mark Harris

• Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: newbie question on braid
March 20, 2012, 08:13:39 PM
Hi Peter

Several reasons I would put forward:

1. You have to consider the rating the of rod you are using.  If you rod is rated PE8, it will fish best with that diameter of line. Most GT rods are rated between PE6 and PE10 (call it 60 lbs and 100 lbs if you have to, although that is kind of meaningless these days - it's the line diameter that is important) with the average rod probably being optimum PE8.

2. The ability to muscle in a fish. Typically GT anglers have most success by getting the fish in quickly. That's also much better for the fish.  While a 30 kg GT might not break 50lb line in the water, it is a lot easier to put pressure on the fish with 80lb line.

3. A little bit of extra abrasion resistance.

4. Shock load.  A well-loaded cast of an average GT lure (say 150 grams) puts a huge shock load on the braid. You do not want line explosions before your lure even hits the water.

On your suggested set up of 65 lb (call it PE6) braid on a Stella 10000 - I would totally agree with that and you should match it with one of the lighter PE6-8 GT rods. You can't get enough PE8 on a 10000 size spool, so you would be fishing at the lighter end of a typical GT set up.  That's why many GT anglers choose to fit a Stella 10000 with an after-market spool (size 12000 to 16000) which will hold 200-250 metres of PE8 braid, and keep the factory 10000 spool for PE6 fishing.