Jordan Hack

• Fusilier
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
I want a bigger one
February 13, 2008, 08:27:05 PM
G'day everybody, my name is Jordan and I am fairly new to the whole heavy popping scene. I am living in Cardwell (aka Hinchinbrook) and have been having a ball over the last 6 months catching what you guys seem to refer to as "small" gts in the 15-25kg bracket on the offshore reefs out from hinchinbrook island. The old meter plus barra seems a bit mundane after getting a few of these guys. All the fish we have been landing are all around the same size - give or take 5kg. What I would like to know is do these sort of grounds we have been fishing hold the monster 35-50kg fish that I see from other outer reef trips. I assume they do but the regularity of fish we are catching that are called for between 15 and 20 kilos is making me wonder. Any help is greatly appreciated. I have added a couple of pics from recent trips. If you can't tell from the photos I am addicted

Regards Jordan

Brandon Khoo

• Foundation Moderator
  • Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
Re: I want a bigger one
February 13, 2008, 09:32:18 PM
Welcom to the site, Jordan. Your question is an excellent one. Firstly, let me say that we definitely do not regard a 25kg GT as "small". A fish of that size is an excellent fish and an achievement to land. Of course, GTs do grown much larger than that and there is little doubt that the 100kg monsters are out there.