Dave Huck

• Fusilier
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Heavy Jigs vs Light Line
October 17, 2012, 06:45:01 PM
Hi Folks,

I'm a relative novice to jigging but I'm looking for some advice on a specific problem. I want to go for a 10KG line class record (Guinea Barracuda in West Africa) using a jigging outfit (the big ones seem to like jigs). I've sourced pretested braid (sunline castaway PE1.2) and I'm now trying to sort out the right rod for the job.

The locals have told me that they normally use 250 - 300gm jigs (I don't recall fishing much deeper than 30 metres so I guess they're using relatively heavy jigs because of the tide?). I plan on fishing jigs between 120 and 250gm. Target specimens will be 25kg and up (the all tackle record is 46kg). These fish don't fight particularly hard but the're scary buggers when they come up next to the boat.

I'm either going to go for an off the shelf Shimano Speedmaster 183MH rated for 85-200gms, a Jigwrex 178 rated for 100gms (these look like the only readily available jigging rods in the UK where I live) a JM Sabre rated 100gm or, from the sublime to the ridiculous, import a Synit Kaha (050 or 100) or Deepshot 150.

So, with a combination of PE1.2 and 150 - 200gm jigs, which rod should I go for? Or, to put it another way, is the line rating or the jig weight rating more important in this case?

Any advice would be much appreciated.

As an aside, my club in UK can test line and the Sunline Castaway came back as 19lb - 18lb - 19lb for the 10KG sample and 12lb - 12lb - 12lb for the 6KG. Pretty impressive!

Cheers

Dave

Dmitrii Novgorodtcev

• Fusilier
  • Liked:
Re: Heavy Jigs vs Light Line
October 18, 2012, 07:21:52 AM
Hi Dave,