Richard Kanseah

• Phytoplankton
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Aloha

Other than my intro post, this is my first post and hopefully posting it in the correct area

Having read many of the entries in regards to the Topic of Plugging for Ulua, , mostly from shoreline, I have been wanting to give it a go for some time now , been reading material posted here, watching th GTFC videos and of course summoning my past experiences in having caught Ulua and Papio.

I finally took the leap so to speak, I would have loved to of had KPC wrap me up one of those UC blanks or any noted wrapper or high end blank, yet it is my first attempt at trying the plugging aspect of tackling Ulua.

Have any forum members used or are familiar with the Temple Fork Outfitters line of Loomis Tactical Surf Rods? I purchased recently such a rod, factory wrapped , this past week, I have yet to recieve it yet should be per contact with FishUSA this morning should have it by monday.

Its a 10'6" rod, line wt 20-40, and 2-8oz. I have researched reviews of this rod from a variety of other fishing forums, and have been pleasantly surprised by what I have learned. The rod itself, although marketed by TFO, was actually designed to specs and invisioned by Gary Loomis himself. The blank itself is a HM graphite/carbon mix. I had learned that the rod was specifically designed to handle only braided line.

The rod set me back $ 199.95 with free shipping included and a lifetime warranty. I figure that being it would be my first dedicated plugging blank, the cost would not be to difficult to eat if I was not very good at it or even enjoyed it.

I initially wanted to get a St. Croix Mojo rod around the same specs as my inital intro rod, yet was surprised to find that some dealers were having nearly 80% return on the rods due to breakage, some were even higher.