Brandon Pope

• Fusilier
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Yucatan GT knot
December 09, 2013, 02:36:29 PM
This is my first attempt at tying this knot. Please take a look and give me some feedback. I am using JB Hollow and 200 Varivas to practice. Does this look bulky or loose?

I'm using 10 turns.

Mark Harris

• Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
Re: Yucatan GT knot
December 09, 2013, 02:44:06 PM
If you are casting through the guides, I do not think that will work.  The tied mono leader is too bulky.  If you are using a short leader and the knot stays outside the tip guide, then should be OK.

As for the integrity of the knot.. no idea really as it is not one I have used.

Brandon Pope

• Fusilier
  • Liked:
December 09, 2013, 02:54:14 PM
Attempt number 2. 4 turns with mono and 12 wraps around loop.

Brandon Pope

• Fusilier
  • Liked:
December 09, 2013, 02:59:37 PM
If you are casting through the guides, I do not think that will work.  The tied mono leader is too bulky.  If you are using a short leader and the knot stays outside the tip guide, then should be OK.

As for the integrity of the knot.. no idea really as it is not one I have used.

Thanks Mark for the quick reply Mark.
The leader will be outside the guides (1.2m). As for integrity, I am using the knot Nick mentioned he uses in Oman. It is simple and quick, which is something I am lured by considering I will be changing leaders on rocking small boats while in Socotra. 

Trevor Skinner

• Bluefin Tuna
  • Liked:
December 09, 2013, 03:31:02 PM
Brandon,

It's not right. I'll post some pics later, when I get home from work.

Regards,

Trev

Brandon Pope

• Fusilier
  • Liked:
December 09, 2013, 05:02:43 PM
Much appreciated.

Nick Bowles

• Dogtooth Tuna
  • Liked:
December 09, 2013, 05:25:53 PM