Troy Ralph

• Phytoplankton
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Hi all,

First post - and I'm new to the world of popping and stickbaiting so please go easy.

I'm looking for a little advise for my first set up (on a budget), that will coincide with my LBG live bait / ballooning rig.

Over the Australian summer I travel to NSW and love having a fish off a few rock ledges, it's not GT country but rather Kingfish and Tuna.

With my current set up I catch a live bait and float it out not too far from the rock ledge (while attracting other bait fish with burly) - once done I wait. This can sometimes be troublesome as some days catching that live bait can be a royal pain in the a** (either not around or a bigger predator is in the area), or the wind is just not working in my favour. So I'm after a top-water set up while I wait or if I'm unlucky with the live bait or wind.

As I said previously I'm on a budget as I'm a student and also no matter how hard one tries, your rock gear at some point or another goes for a roll.

So far I got myself a "Noeby Infinite Popping" rod, 8'6", PE 4 - 8, Max. casting weight 200g (~$160 AUD), on it I have a Fin-Nor Lethal 100 reel (I've made a few minor modifications to improve the line lay), with PE 8 braid (I've measured it at ~ 0.485 mm).

Now the biggest problem I'm having or questioning is leader and poppers/stickbait rigs?

1. Is the PE8 stated above too heavy, should I go for a lighter line (PE 6 / 6.5) to try and get a longer cast?

2. What type and strength leader should I use?
Should I make these twisted leaders I've read about, if so what strength leader should I start with? OR should I just go with the conventional (non-twisted) leader (80lb or 100lb)?

3. What are some brands of leaders you recommend?
So far I was considering Xzoga Taka SK as I love their Takalon monofilament.

4. How long do you make your leaders?