Joey Tun

• Fusilier
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
GT rods in the US
August 17, 2008, 12:38:29 AM
Hi Everyone,
I'm a newbie to GT popping. By reading what is posted on the forum and the web site here, I learned a thing or two I did have my first successful GT popping trip in the Bay of Bangel recently.
So special thanks to Luke and all the members for educating me.

Now, I'm bitten by the GT bug and I'm considering a new GT popping outfit. I live in the US Mid-West and the locations I have occasional access to varies from Hawaii to Bay of Bangel & Andaman Sea (and sometimes Caribbean for tarpon etc.).

I'm struggling with 2 things.
First, how heavy of an outfit I should plan for given the fact that the locations I get to fish varies a lot? (I'm debating between new Sella 10000SW or 18000SW). Most of the time GTs I'll have access to will be at most 30kg class (mostly in 15kgs or less). Yes, Hawaii have some heavy weights but the population of really large GTs seems to be pretty small.

Second, finding a good matching rod! Being in the US, the domestically available models are very limited (I found something called Ocean Tackle International <http://www.360tackle.com/home.php?xid=f59a0e6d8b0081abac29dc2d882a9f59>
, and Daiwa USA has a couple of popping models). None I know much about. The upside is warranty support & lower price. I do have access to Japanese models through Angler's Pro Shop in New York. And the Carpenter SP's seem to be really nice. The only thing that got me thinking is they have zero warranty support in the US.

So any advice would be greatly appreciated. One other thing I do want to ask specifically, if I go with a Carpenter SP (say Heavy or ExHeavy model), how likely is it that I might break it in actual fishing situation (not talking about accidents or mis-use like high-sticking here). Have any of you broken Carpenter SPs before or heard of breaking?

Thanks
Joey

Pat Victorino

Re: GT rods in the US
August 17, 2008, 03:52:52 AM
Hi Everyone,