Hermano Rodrigues

• Phytoplankton
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Going for GT's in Timor-Leste
January 11, 2016, 06:53:46 PM
Hi friends,
I'm working in Timor-Leste and took some time to go fishing from the rocks (coral recife). I got 2 GT's with just a little more than 2 kgs... small but what a fight!

I'm using a:
a) SHIMANO BIOMASTER FISHING REEL - 10000 SW AHG
b) SHIMANO TCURVE REVOLUTION COASTAL FISHING ROD

But I haven't been very successful... I lost several poppers... I've no experience with GT's.

Is there any post that explains the basic to start, from the line (I'm using mono 0.45 in the reel and leader crimped for 100 lb but the popper doesn't work well), to the knots!?

While I take a deeper look into the forum, I'd would appreciate your help.
Glad to have found this forum.

Felix Lux

• Fusilier
  • Liked:
Re: Going for GT's in Timor-Leste
January 12, 2016, 05:00:09 AM
Hi Hermano,

Not sure if there is a post, but here quick, basic advise:

Which exact model revolution coastal do you have? The 12' 10-20kg? And which size lures are you using?

Most importantly I would use braided line particularly for poppers. Something like JB Hollow 40lb or Tufline XP 50lb will be good for the reel and I suppose also for the rod. Mono stretches a lot and is a lot thicker than equivalent braid, so you will gain line capacity, casting distance, feel for the lures, ability to work lures nicely and hook setting power.

Connect the braided mainline to about about 3m of 80lb mono leader with an FG knot