wswong

info neede on the gipang 83H
April 04, 2011, 03:50:45 PM
Hi all,

I am new to popping and i am intending to get the gipang 83H and pairing it to twinpower 8000HG. casting lure size is about 120-150g. line use is PE4 or PE5. but i have not seen it in action, i wonder is the rod too stiff for me? anyone kind to comment on this rod?

tks
wswong

Mike_Tan

Re: info neede on the gipang 83H
April 04, 2011, 09:10:19 PM
The set up sounds ok except for your choice of line class. IMO PE4-5 is way too fine for casting plugs over 100g. You'll probably lose more poppers to line trouble (tangles/wind-knots/worn line) than getting reefed by fish. PowerPro, Tuf Line XP or Izorline Spectra in 65lb test is a safer bet and will still give you plenty distance! I'm not sure about your fitness level but I think for beginners its best to stick with 80-120g lures. Less tiring! Rods like the Daiwa Saltiga Expedition GT86, Smith WRC 80P/35, Seed GT Casting 88 and Hot's Gipang 83 are all easy casting and reliable rods. You can't go wrong with them.
Last Edit: April 04, 2011, 09:14:25 PM by Mike Tan

Michael Adolfsen

• Fusilier
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
April 05, 2011, 12:21:38 AM
on a recent trip to the Andamans i used a Gipang 83 and a Carp. sp 80 and i just love the Carp. The Gipang was doing fine, but the Carp was my favorite, casting just as far. Just my opinion

Thien Dao

• Fusilier
  • Liked:
April 05, 2011, 06:00:24 AM
On a trip to Lord Howe last year, I used the 83H mated with a Stella 18000 and pe6 to cast and work Craftbait Gt3's and Cubera 150 without a problem. The outfit was very light and easy to cast with. Didn't hook anything on it so can't really tell you how it loads on a fish.

wswong

April 06, 2011, 01:02:42 PM