Matt Hempfling

new to the site
June 28, 2007, 01:48:05 PM
Hello everybody,
I'm new to the site and I think it looks great.  I am from New York, where I primarily fish from the surf for Striped Bass.  I'm going to Hawaii (Molokai) to fish for GT's with a guide.  I'll be bringing my own gear so i'm trying to learn quickly what i'm going to need.  I have a 2 piece Lamiglas rod (9ft) that is very strong and light.  It is rated up to 3 1/2 ounces.  I have a Van Staal 250 that is spooled up with 50lb power pro.  My friend is making me some custom plugs special for my trip and I see that split rings are a main concern so I will be using Wolverine split rings.  Any suggestions or advice would be appreciated.

Brandon Khoo

• Foundation Moderator
  • Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: new to the site
June 28, 2007, 06:11:46 PM
Hi Matt and welcome to the site. I have little knowledge of the gear you're using as it isn't popular in this part of the world. You may find the Van Staal hard work for popping though as it doesn't have a high gear ratio so you will have to work a little harder.

If the GTs are of a reasonable size (20kg plus) and the area you're fishing is reefy, you may find that you will struggle with 50lb line. Split rings are only one aspect of your terminals but an important one. The other thing is to make sure your hooks are up to it. You won't go too far wrong checking out some of the information which Luke provides on this site.

Alos, remember to crush down your barbs to give the GTs a good chance of getting rid of the lure if they break you off.
If it swims; I want to catch it!

Cam Foley

• Bluefin Tuna
  • Liked:
June 28, 2007, 08:41:15 PM
Keen to know about the Van Staal, the 250 has a ratio of only 4.25:1 with no bail arm.Looking at the catolouge it says it will hold 490yds of 50lb ,im sure you could get 300 meters of 80lb on it.Really interested in the Van Staal reels.
AKA STELLAJIGGER
KINGFISH INTERPRETER

Brandon Khoo