Michael Gamble

• Phytoplankton
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
16000 SOM No Limits Question.
February 28, 2011, 09:48:59 PM
Hey guys,

Just a quick one, I have recently purchased a Studio Ocean Mark 16000 SOM No Limits spool for my Stella 10000SW for an upcoming trip.
When I put the spool onto the body of reel and applied some drag pressure I noticed it was fully locked and only really pumping out say 2-3kg of drag? After repositioning the spool it seems the problems fixed, however sometimes when I tighten the drag I'll hear a slight 'pop' inside the spool and then this instantly allows for heaps more drag pressure to be applied. 

Its hard to explain and I am not a very mechanical person, just curious if anyone has had any similar issues as I definitely don't want to struggle with it whilst fishing.

Cheers in advanced,
Mick,

Mark Harris

• Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
Re: 16000 SOM No Limits Question.
February 28, 2011, 09:55:57 PM
Mick this happened to me once only with a SOM spool and it was on a day trip when suddenly I reckoned I had only 2 kgs of drag at maximum screw.  I took off the spool and put it firmly back into place and this has never happened again with many dozens of uses.

Ben Furness

• Bluefin Tuna
  • Liked:
February 28, 2011, 09:58:02 PM
It sounds as if your spool may not have been aligned properly when you first fit it. Make sure you rotate it a few times with downward pressure prior to tightening the drag. It should click into place when lined up properly.

Mark Harris

• Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
February 28, 2011, 10:57:44 PM
Sounds like that Ben I agree. But the same thing happened to me in the middle of a casting session. The drag was fine and then suddenly it wasn't. The spool was apparently engaged properly.  There could be something in the design of the dual drag on a SOM No Limits that causes this. 
Last Edit: February 28, 2011, 11:05:31 PM by Mark Harris

Mike_Tan

March 02, 2011, 07:14:03 PM