jay currie

Rods for saltiga 6500 expedition
November 16, 2008, 07:08:16 PM
Hi all im very new to this jigging and poppering world especialy for os fish. I have just bought a saltiga 6500 exp and have spooled it with 80lb braid i would like to know the best rods for this reel one for jigging and one for poppering i plan on using it mostly for catching os tuna and gt's and some black bass, i am also hopefully going on a nomad trip in 2010 to jewel reef and plan on getting a spare spool with 120lb braid any advice would be good for im out of my comfort zone and have know idea i usely catch longtail to 20kg on 3500 certate. Thanks

Brandon Khoo

• Foundation Moderator
  • Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Rods for saltiga 6500 expedition
November 16, 2008, 09:49:38 PM
Jay, there is no "best rod" per se. It really comes down to what you like and more importantly, what you can actually handle. The Expedition is't designed for popping, it is a jigging reel but it is useable (although a bit tiring) for popping. Rather than go through the whole gamut of rods that are available, perhaps the best thing you could do is do some reading of threads that are already on this forum. You'll find plenty of information on this site. Perhaps the best advice I can give you is to do your research and find a rod that suits you, not someone who weighs 120kgs and bench presses what Arnold Schwarzenegger  does.

Btw, I really don't think a 6500EXP is the reel for black bass. It might have some trouble casting 30g minnows.
If it swims; I want to catch it!

jay currie

November 17, 2008, 06:36:54 AM