Tosh Auer

• Phytoplankton
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Leader Setup's why so complex?
November 06, 2012, 05:30:29 PM
Hi guys,

This is my first post here so bear with me if this has been covered before. I have been reading through alot of past threads in relation to leaders and i am confused on a lot of people's leader setups. I am relatively new to popping and dont understand why so many people have 10' - 20' of leader/ twisted leader/ shock leader/ wind on whatever it happens to be. I cant think of anything worse then casting knots and wind on connections through your guides all day. I understand the need for a leader as a shock absorber and less visible to fish etc. Am i missing something??  As i said i am relatively new to this so please excuse any stupidity in this question.

Thanks in advance

Tosh

Mark Harris

• Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
Re: Leader Setup's why so complex?
November 06, 2012, 06:27:00 PM
Tosh, I would suggest you keep it very simple as many GT anglers do.  A single strand nylon shock leader leader of about 3 metres attached to your  braided mainline via a knot such as FG, PR or Mid.

Fishing does not get much simpler than that.

Clem Henry

• Fusilier
  • Liked:
November 06, 2012, 07:07:19 PM
Just as Mark said...

Some don't mind a knot traveling through the guides...some do (like me). I run a relatively short leader for this reason, there are just the usual pro's and con's to doing that.

Brandon Khoo

• Foundation Moderator
  • Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
November 06, 2012, 09:18:05 PM