Brandon Pope

• Fusilier
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
First GT trip
August 01, 2013, 02:51:10 PM
I am a long time tuna fisherman who is taking his first GT trip. I've caught several bluefin trevally is Panama, but again, this is my first attempt at seriously fishing for GTs. I have a TR GT710-8 and a 60lb OTI blank I had wrapped years ago. I've landed tuna to 130lbs on the OTI rod, but in deep water I don't apply more than 20lbs of drag.
I also have a 10000sw stella and 18000 saragosa loaded with 60lb JB hollow. I know I'll likely need to bump up to 100lb, but an unsure about leaders. I am also unsure about hooks and which I should place on my poppers. I would like some input here.
I'll be fishing Socotra for 5 days. I have plenty of poppers and stick baits from 80-130g, but would prefer to travel as light as possible. I was thinking a dozen poppers and stick baits would suffice.
I'm bring a 500g jigging oufit and I'll be fly-fishing the beaches with a 9wt as well as using lighter spinning tackle for permit and bones in the afternoons. I need room for all of this gear as well.
Any and all input is appreciated.

Mark Harris

• Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
Re: First GT trip
August 01, 2013, 06:07:34 PM
Wow Brandon.. first GT trip and it is to Socotra!

My first reaction is that every piece of the equipment you mention is going to leave you under-gunned I am afraid.  I will leave confirmation of that or otherwise to the guys who have been to Socotra on multiple occasions.

Andy Rowe

• Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
August 01, 2013, 08:17:48 PM
Welcome to the Money Hole  :D
Set the ray to GeeT

Brandon Pope

• Fusilier
  • Liked:
August 01, 2013, 10:06:53 PM
Money hole is right. I realize I'm taking another step into another hole. I'll just step lightly as I adjust to the temperature.