Matt Latham

• Phytoplankton
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Popper Size to use with JM GT Monster78
April 19, 2011, 10:14:40 AM
Hi Guys,
I am fairly new to GT Popping and was hoping for some advice. I have got a Jigging Master GT Monster78 rod, rated to 180gm lures, and was looking at getting some poppers around 150gms (Cubera's, GT3's etc). Would the rod be able to work these chuggers effectively or am I better to stick with one's in the 120gm range?

Thanks for your help,

Matt

Brandon Khoo

• Foundation Moderator
  • Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
Re: Popper Size to use with JM GT Monster78
April 19, 2011, 01:56:12 PM
The JM GT Monster is rated (if I remember correctly) to PE10. I've never fished the rod but have had a play around with on a few occasions. I can't see how it is suited to PE10. It would handle 120g poppers fine but the 150s will start to really flex that tip.
If it swims; I want to catch it!

Matt Latham

• Phytoplankton
  • Liked:
April 19, 2011, 02:58:09 PM
Thanks Brandon, as you say it suggests a rating of up to PE10 but I fish it with PE8 which is more comfortable and still puts enough hurt on the fish. I will stick with the smaller poppers for the majority, maybe try out a larger one on the next trip to see how it performs.

As with all the other info on this forum your insight is much appreciated.

Matt

Andre van Wyk

• Dogtooth Tuna
  • DARK CONTINENT DARKSTAR RIDER
  • Liked:
April 19, 2011, 05:55:56 PM
Hi Matt,

I've fished both the 78 and 86 Monsters a fair bit, and agree with Brandon, the rods are better suited to PE 6 to PE 8, and although the ratings says to 180 grams, I feel that 125 gram lures ( especially once you add hooks etc ) are where the rod handles best... once you start gettuing up around the 150's you do get a bit too much saturation on hard casts in my opinion...

but with the 125gram lures, its magic, and a beautiful rod to fight fish with, the action makes life VERY easy on the angler, and tough on the fish...

Cheers
Dre