Kiel Hinds

• Fusilier
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Smith Runboh vs Tailwalk Gunz
November 30, 2010, 01:52:32 PM
So some persons swear by the runboh while others say the gunz. For those of us like myself that are total novices, what is the real difference?
Is one better than the other at all? I'm interested in something that will cast a mile and that is fairly durable, with a good action.

Andrew Williams

Re: Smith Runboh vs Tailwalk Gunz
November 30, 2010, 02:00:46 PM
I would say gunz for the $!

Chuen Fan

• Bluefin Tuna
  • Liked:
November 30, 2010, 02:22:10 PM
Orion bigfoot in the smaller sizes are also pretty hard to ignore! I'd say depending on species of fish you were targeting would be what I'd pick. They're both good lures.
AKA: Sunny

Travis Heaps

• Dogtooth Tuna
  • Liked:
November 30, 2010, 02:55:01 PM
Have never used a SBR but have had a Gunz pulled apart on a 30kg fish.  Didn't lose the fish which is commendable as it was a stop em or pop em kind of fight but it was still not useable after that one fish.  Nice action and cheap from memory though. 

Peter Morris

• Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
November 30, 2010, 03:17:15 PM
I have both Gunz and Baby Runbohs......but what Chuen has said about the orions is hard to ignore.
Orions just last so well and are able to withstand so much punishment.

Pete

Peter Childs

• Bluefin Tuna
  • If it moves......cast at it!
  • Liked:
November 30, 2010, 03:32:38 PM
Kiel

I demolished 2 Tailwalks on Kings in NZ in (two fish each) that was a 160 and a 180! 

Despite that, gotta say I love 'em and just bought 4 replacements (2 of each). 

I love the action of the Runboh in the water, but haven't had the same hookup success yet as the Gunz - It does cast further than the Gunz (160) and looks a lot more durable though.

Love those Orions - they're sweet!

Brandon Khoo

• Foundation Moderator
  • Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
November 30, 2010, 06:45:03 PM