Stephen Wan

Re: Shimano Spheros 14000
September 25, 2007, 11:45:59 PM
Hello David

I was just about to ask what sort of kit you're taking with you. I'm brand new to this. Never seen/hooked a GT before.

Friends I'm going with live in Singapore so they are taking me around to buy jigs/poppers when I'm on my stop-over. I do remember one of them mentioning the YoZuri Surface Bull GT popper. Sorry...... I'm not much help here.

Apparently we're fishing in the south where the GTs "aren't that big". Have to email my friends to find out what they mean by "aren't that big".

Hope some of the guys here have fished the Maldives and can advise.

Stephen

David Sharples

• Red Bass
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
September 25, 2007, 11:51:52 PM
Hey Stephen

I'm taking an 8' Popping rod with the Stella 10000/20000 guessing 80lb on the bigger spool, 100lb on the smaller one, plus a jigging rod and 40 size Daiwa Saltist with 80lb. I'm taking fly kit as well so if I start breaking rods at least I've got alternatives.

Are you going on a liveaboard trip?

Agreed we should open up a new thread on the Maldives and kit lists!

Cheers

David

Brandon Khoo

• Foundation Moderator
  • Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
September 26, 2007, 08:51:01 AM
I am not at all familiar with a Lesath GT rod. I am familiar with the Lesath range but I thought they were rods for light applications!

One person here who has been to the maldives on a few occasions is wongkz. Hopefully, he might be able to gie you some tips but from my previous discussions with him, they don't load up to the same weight of gear we seem to do locally. If I remember correctly, I think they fish from 60 - 80lb for popping purposes.

David, the Yo-Zuris are fine but it is a good idea to upgrade. I think you'll find that the ST-66 Owners will be adequate. I don't think you will need to go to ST-76s and probably an Owner 10 - 11 split ring. There are of course other options for rings than owner like the Varivas etc.