Santosh Shanmuga

Popping and Flyfishing
February 28, 2008, 07:51:03 AM
Hey guys,

I'm brand new to the popping scene, and I'm think about doing a trip to the South Pacific in the summer (June, July, August) or 2009.

I'm an experienced flyfisherman, so I would like to know what locations and/or companies can offer both popping and flyfishing for some big GTs. I have a 16 and 17wt flyrod, so gear won't be a problem for flyfishing. Are there any locations or trip that would suit me, a beginner popper well? Possible with Le Poisson or NomadSportsfishing?

Places like Bugatti Reef or Shoalwater? I know Shoalwater is hard fishing, but I would be up to the challenge.

I'm a rod builder, but I build mainly fly rods. I was looking into some blanks for building a popping rod, and the Calstar GF700XH looks like a great blank. What do you guys think?

Thanks
-Santosh
Last Edit: February 28, 2008, 07:53:03 AM by Santosh Shanmuga

Mick Cunningham

• Dogtooth Tuna
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Popping and Flyfishing
February 28, 2008, 01:16:29 PM
hi again ..

i think you are better head out to bugaffi reef ... for some fly fishing ..

shoalwater is only for big gt there is no place for fly fishing ...i have been there ... you can check this report 
http://www.gtpopping.com/forum/index.php?topic=493.0

i,m sure that brandon will help you out  cos he have been out there ...

cheer,s mick
Last Edit: February 28, 2008, 01:19:57 PM by Mick

Jon Li

• Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
February 28, 2008, 01:21:10 PM
In my opinion , flyfishing targetting GT is best done on sandy beaches rather than rocky areas where one needs to resort into " no line out " technique which you can't do with flyfishing outfits .

Jon .
It's not what you don't know that gets you into trouble , it's what you know for sure that ain't so . Mark Twain .

Santosh Shanmuga

February 28, 2008, 01:25:27 PM