Stephen Polzin

• Bluefin Tuna
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
new rod's finished
June 13, 2007, 02:12:42 PM
Here's a couple pics of the new rod.  Calstar GF700H blank, MNSG guides, home-made to a Bluewater recipe (except non reverse stripper).  Kept the bindings simple 'cause I'm only a beginner, but very happy with the result. 
Cairns Bommie Basher

Stephen Polzin

• Bluefin Tuna
  • Liked:
Re: new rod's finished
June 13, 2007, 02:13:13 PM
ddf
Cairns Bommie Basher

Stephen Polzin

• Bluefin Tuna
  • Liked:
June 13, 2007, 02:13:37 PM
afad
Cairns Bommie Basher

Cam Foley

• Bluefin Tuna
  • Liked:
June 13, 2007, 04:23:34 PM
Very nice you have done a top job Stephen looks like a shop brought one.
AKA STELLAJIGGER
KINGFISH INTERPRETER

lonhro

June 13, 2007, 04:56:10 PM
Very Nice Stephen,

looks very very nice. how long did it take you to make all up ???

Very impressive Rod got a name for it ???

Randalz

Jay Burgess

• Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
June 13, 2007, 05:39:18 PM
Nice job stephen, how difficult is it to do the bindings?

Love the blue grips  ;D

Perrie Thomas

June 13, 2007, 05:48:59 PM
good job mate..simple but effective...now get out and blood it !!!

Stephen Polzin

• Bluefin Tuna
  • Liked:
June 13, 2007, 07:03:36 PM
Thanks fellas,

I can honestly say it turned out a lot better than I had expected. 

Before starting out I looked around on the web for some hints.  There are some really good tips including video tutorials on the mudhole website http://shop.mudhole.com/Rod-Building-101  .

I set my new home-made rod rotisserie up on the coffee table in front of the tv so I could sit and be comfortable while working.  One thing I gleaned was it's very important not to rush it. 

To tension the thread, I loaded it onto an old Jigmaster I don't use anymore (but has a great drag) and held it between my knees while slowly turning the blank by hand in the rotisserie (not connected to the motor).