Ian Ramsey

Dogtooth
May 06, 2010, 04:40:14 AM
Hi All  , I need your help , I am new to jigging , and I am off to Osprey reef for 5 days in November, and I want to jig for Dogtooth Tuna , I am going to build a  Synit  vemon 450 tt  it has a max drag rateing of 43 kg ,  best jig 200--500gr,  rod  length 5'2", Max PE rateing PE 8 ,  What I would like to know is what style of reel is best , PE line weight , and jigs to use  , Thank you for any advice given

Ian

Mark Stotesbury

• Fusilier
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Dogtooth
May 06, 2010, 05:15:08 AM
hooker and andermans are a good bet . hooker1 and speed hooker 220g range , black . pink/siver,gunmetal , white .

Brandon Khoo

• Foundation Moderator
  • Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
May 06, 2010, 08:35:28 AM
Ian, did you say a maximum drag rating of 43kgs?!  :o
If that is the case, the rod wouldn't be PE8, it'd be about PE30 and you would need to be a bull elephant to hold on to it!!
If it swims; I want to catch it!

Bwanna Surya

• Fusilier
  • Liked:
May 06, 2010, 01:49:36 PM
Ian, did you say a maximum drag rating of 43kgs?!  :o
If that is the case, the rod wouldn't be PE8, it'd be about PE30 and you would need to be a bull elephant to hold on to it!!

;D..funny how this new rod manufacturer stated their rod spec.....

Ian Ramsey

May 06, 2010, 02:49:12 PM
Brandon, thank you for pointing that out should have been Max drag 18 kg best 9-14 kg , and please lets not start on the make of the blank , it is just one I am going to build on , That is all , not if it is better than others .I am more intrested in catching a fish ,  Thanks  Ian

Brandon Khoo

• Foundation Moderator
  • Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
May 06, 2010, 02:55:03 PM
sorry Ian - not quite with you - what are you saying?