Kiel Hinds

• Fusilier
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
I'm new to the idea of fishing with lures as here in barbados it's really not common. But i've done it a few times and its addictive!! but i need some help. The majority of my fishing is land based, from ledges, rocks, piers etc. I'm looking for stick baits and poppers that can be worked effectively from heights. I was on the hammerhead site and the g-cup seems to be one that works pretty well from heights. Any suggestions guys?!? :-\

Travis Heaps

• Dogtooth Tuna
  • Liked:
So i'm thinking something that sits flat in the water, decent sized face on it, not tail heavy...idea being you get the popping action without pulling it out of the water due to being up high? 

Maybe opt for a belly and head hook rig with no tail hook as a start?  Others will have better suggestions but the Cuberas and GTmanias are a good starting point for poppers i'd suggest?  And for sticks mabe the Orion Bigfoots and Heru (etc) Boboras - something in a sinking style to keep it down in the water a bit?

Slower, big bloops that allow the lure to settle after working might be a good technique and also work the lure with the rod facing down to the water as opposed to straght upwards/skywards pops which tends to bring the lure out of the water...watch the rod tip on rocks and pylons though :)

Mark Harris

• Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
I think Travis is very much on the right lines by suggesting poppers that sit flat, verging on front heavy.
One popper of that nature which I have found fairly easy to work from high ledges is the 160 gram Adhek PomPom. The long and light tail seems to help a lot.

Andrew Poulos

• Dogtooth Tuna
  • Liked: