deepblue

yelllow tail popping or jigging?
January 19, 2008, 12:45:13 PM
Hi Guys,

I'm pretty new to jigging/popping. Recently moved to Socal and wonder what method popping or jigging would be good for yellow tail. Any feedback would be appreciate.

Thanks,

Brandon Khoo

• Foundation Moderator
  • Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: yelllow tail popping or jigging?
January 19, 2008, 03:55:16 PM
Jigging is the most recognised method for yellowtails. I have heard a number of people discussing areas where they are a viable target for poppers but have yet too see solid evidence of this. If I saw this, I'd be there!
If it swims; I want to catch it!

Peter Lowe

• Bluefin Tuna
  • Liked:
re: yellowtail popping or jigging
January 19, 2008, 07:11:01 PM
In the deeper water -30mtr plus and assuming your in a boat, I would definatley agree that Jigging is most popular/effective method. Yellowtails are such a curious and competative fish..... in saying this, hear in Morton Bay, which is mostly 10mtr or less making jigging very hard then popping is heaps better-if you can find the typical King haunts you will have far further success popping for them, spots to look for are just structure with good current that bait likes to hang around. If you need proof Brandon head up my friend - I can show you any time, they are not always big but they do love the poppers and I am sure you will love the visual hook up- the bigger fish make a bow wake as 4 or 5 try to out muscle each other then smash your popper.

The pic says it all and yes that is a popper in his mouth.......- we have caught many this way after figuring it out.

Jigging is the most recognised method for yellowtails. I have heard a number of people discussing areas where they are a viable target for poppers but have yet too see solid evidence of this. If I saw this, I'd be there!
Last Edit: January 19, 2008, 08:25:05 PM by Peter Lowe

Brandon Khoo

• Foundation Moderator
  • Giant Trevally
  • Liked: