Kosta Psarreas

Yamaga Blue reef
April 22, 2012, 03:58:56 AM
 :) Hi all I'm new to this forum and I must say use all rock well done .
I was looking at buying a GT rod and the rod in question is the yamaga blue reef gt 710/8 .
Has anyone used this rod and if so could u tell me if its a good rod , and are the yamagas the same make
As the ripple fisher ....... :) I am new to gt fishing have seen alot of vids on it and read alot on this forum
........:)

Jaime Chee

• Fusilier
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Yamaga Blue reef
April 22, 2012, 06:01:47 AM

Kosta Psarreas

April 22, 2012, 11:55:07 PM
Thank u Jaime thats very good information and good reading :)

Felix Neuer

• Fusilier
  • Liked:
April 28, 2012, 10:56:57 PM
we broke 3!!! brand new BlueReef GT 78/8 this February on the Seychelles.
all three broke right behind the tip guide.

in contrast, no problem at all with the old ATLAS GT 78/8, that had been heavily fished before.
one even landed a 145 cm fork !!! GT in the surf.

Antonino Augugliaro

• Fusilier
  • Liked:
May 13, 2012, 06:23:18 AM
Could you describe breaking dynamic? During casting, fighting...
Thanks a lot  :)

Brandon Khoo

• Foundation Moderator
  • Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
May 13, 2012, 08:55:35 AM
That is an extremely unusual place for a rod to break, let alone three in the same place. I think there is a reasonable probability the three rods got a hard knock when they were packaged together.

The Blue Reefs have no reported fault like this that I am aware of.
If it swims; I want to catch it!

Felix Neuer

• Fusilier
  • Liked:
May 13, 2012, 04:39:39 PM
as the rods belonged to different persons, they where of course not packed together while traveling, but they where used by the same person when they broke. we share of course the extra tackle/backup rods when at remote places.
all three broke during casting and the knot used on all three was the PR.
I suspected the knot to be the reason, but how can anybody tell.