Karl Danneberg

How long is a piece of string ?
March 18, 2013, 09:20:00 PM
Hi Guys

I'm new to popping , I primarily do offshore fly-fishing for bill-fish and yellow-fin tuna. Occasionally I do trips where fly fishing doesn't run the show.

This April I'm going to Maldives with 3 other mates, non of them have fished for GT's. I have a fair amount of gear that will cover our basics for Jigging and Spinning/popping. The gear ranges from 1 oz to 7 oz and varying rod lengths and actions, they matched with stella 10000's , twin powers, seagates, Avets and on the lighter gear penn spinning reels. The lighter outfits have 50lb power pro or whiplash , the heavier outfits have 100lb whiplash, Tasline or power pro.

I do have one major issue though, I have no idea how many GT Ice creams , Poppers, stick baits and jerk baits I need to take along to cover 4 anglers for 10 days? I did a rough estimate and came up with 200 plugs. This should cover the vary rod sizes and loss rates.

Apart from the cost of purchasing ,  I cannot see how we can fit so many lures in our bags and still pack the other essentials.

Im hoping you guys can shed some light on this for me as I have no clue how many plugs one looses on average per day.

Thank you

Karl

Andre van Wyk

• Dogtooth Tuna
  • DARK CONTINENT DARKSTAR RIDER
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: How long is a piece of string ?
March 19, 2013, 01:54:05 AM
Howzit Karl, welcome to GT Popping bru... always good to have another Saffa on here!

There is no quick answer to your question mate... and as you so rightly put it, its a bit of a "how long is a piece of string?" scenario...

But I can tell you this:

* Most of us take far too much tackle on a trip.... somewhere between 20% and 75% too much in my opinion
* No matter how much you take, you will always have too much of one thing, and not enough of what you really need... its a fact of life and a law of nature ( that doos Murphy at work as usual! )