Mark Harris

• Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
I have been striving for this at my local patch for many years.

So many thousands of casts and so many blank days.  This is the reason why we all fish for GTs I guess - a personal best for the local patch.

GEAR:

Carpenter MH80H
Stella 18000, Varivas Avani GT Max PE8
YGK Galis 170 lb shock leader, FG knot to braid
NT 2/0 swivel, Carpenter 350 lb split ring
Bigfoot 180 with Recorder 7/0 on belly, Kudako ringed 9/0 single on the tail.
Bigfoot 180 was worked very fast for this lure to keep it barely in the sub-surface and stop it sinking.

With no scales on board I don't want to join the weight guesstimation game that seems to go these days. Also, of all days, the custom brag which was designed for this exact moment was not on board!  I will say though that using a combination of old fashioned arm measurements etc, the fish was 140 cm + FL. More than the length though it was the girth of this fish which so impressed. Fatter and thicker than any other large GT I have ever seen in person. An incredibly impressive fish.

Something had definitely caused the larger GTs to come onto the reef shelf at Batu Abah yesterday as just 30 minutes before I landed this fish (on the same gear bar the lure which was a 240 mm BFP Swimbait). Normally this fish alone would have made for a red letter day!  It was somewhat eclipsed just 30 minutes later though:

My theory on this is that the larger GTs typically stay in the deep water (200 metres +) only 1 km offshore at this site and very occasionally they do come onto the shallow shelf for feeding. Yesterday there was a large number of very chunky 3-4 kg mackerel tuna in the shallows, and I do not think this was a coincidence.

The site is definitely on something of a roll. Two days ago a  Japanese group led by Fukui-san and guided by Adhek on his same boat, had 20+ GTs hits there (but generally smaller fish).

A 15 kg+ drag stand off on MH80H - pushing the rod as far as I dare