Warwick Joyce

• Bluefin Tuna
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: thinest diameter braid
January 14, 2011, 10:23:22 AM
Warwick who is on this forum fishes Powerpro with no problems casting at all, much as Mark G has experienced.  Kriss,  I use Tufline XP on a range of reels and have had no issues with it at all, love it.

As Travis said, I have experienced no problem with the powerpro. However when I purchased the line it was still being made by the previous company, before Shimano bought them out. (if it makes a difference)
I was using 80lb. I have had no experience with powerpro since then. I found it rougher than other brands.

I am using Tuff line 100lb, sunline 8lb & 20lb and YGK jigman Dyneema in PE6. All of which I am happy with and have had no problems with.

My 2c :)

Mark Harris

• Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
January 14, 2011, 11:13:38 AM
That might be the key Warwick.  I have heard similar mutterings about PP formerly being reliable.

Luke Wyrsta

• Administrator
  • Giant Trevally
  • GTPopping.com Founder
  • GT Monster
  • Liked:
January 14, 2011, 12:58:14 PM
The PowerPro factory is still the one and original. Shimano is simply the owner now and is encouraging and funding further research, devleopment and innovation.

The same Boss, R&D, machinery is all used.

Kevin Hulse

• Fusilier
  • Liked:
January 14, 2011, 01:07:22 PM
Has anyone tried Daiwa's TD Sensor Braid in the heavier beraking strains? If so how did it go?

Mark Harris

• Giant Trevally
  • Liked:
January 14, 2011, 01:17:18 PM
Thanks for that clarification Luke.

I guess that R&D is to thank for the PowerPro 10 metre colour change braid which is now apparently available (only) in Japan: http://fishing.shimano.co.jp/cat/detail.asp?k=100956

Warwick Joyce

• Bluefin Tuna
  • Liked:
January 14, 2011, 02:13:27 PM
That might be the key Warwick.  I have heard similar mutterings about PP formerly being reliable.