Trevor Williams

• Fusilier
  • aka The Rod Baron
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Starter Pack- what type and how many?
October 16, 2007, 09:15:58 AM
I'm brand new to this and just setting up my gear (carpenter TBL arrived 2 days ago) so I'm looking for suggestions. Mooching around the local stores in Auckland hasn't helped much. It seems I could spend a truckload of money on poppers and not get what I really need. Can any body help me out and maybe suggest a list of types and numbers for a popper starter pack.
I've bought a bit of tackle from Plat.co.jp in the past - are their Tokara stickbaits OK?
Thanks
Trevor

Stephen Polzin

• Bluefin Tuna
  • Liked:
Re: Starter Pack- what type and how many?
October 16, 2007, 11:02:59 AM
Blackjack/Heru/Nomad stickbaits work very well and are easy to use.  They are good allrounders if you're just starting out.

steve
Cairns Bommie Basher

Cam Foley

• Bluefin Tuna
  • Liked:
October 16, 2007, 04:13:44 PM
Hi Trevor ,you would be one of very few to have a Carpenter rod in NZ big congrats on that.
Have you got a reel for it yet?
As for poppers check out the Jone's tackle link on this forum they have all the good stuff.
AKA STELLAJIGGER
KINGFISH INTERPRETER

Trevor Williams

• Fusilier
  • aka The Rod Baron
  • Liked:
October 16, 2007, 04:57:25 PM
I'm picking up a Stella 10000 tomorrow- Only the second spin reel I've ever owned but the first one , a Stella 4000 for softbaits, was so smooth I figured Big Brother would be a good bet.
The carpenter rod feels a lot different to the Calstars I usually use  :o so with a long week-end coming up I'll be out practicing casting. :)
I had a look at the Jones site but without a CD catalogue there is not much to see.
Thanks for the encouragement
T

Cam Foley

• Bluefin Tuna
  • Liked:
October 16, 2007, 06:24:19 PM
With the STELLA 10000 you will have an awesome set up there Trevor.
One site you could check out for poppers and stickbaits is the Bluewater Tackle World in Perth.